Chronic renal failure – sections 1-5

The degree of chronic renal failure is between stage 1 and stage 5. If you suffer from chronic kidney failure, your kidneys are slowly losing their ability to remove waste and excess water from your blood. The state is progressive, which means it worsens over time. However, before the appearance of the symptoms, you can live with your condition for years.

This condition is also referred to as chronic kidney disease or chronic renal insufficiency and affects about 2 in 1,000 in the United States. Usually it is the result of other diseases and disorders that damage the kidneys. Diabetes and hypertension are two conditions leading to the development of this chronic kidney disease

There is no cure for the disease, but when diagnosed early, medicines and diet and lifestyle changes can help slow down the progression. Severity of the disease the National Kidney Foundation has identified 5 chronic renal insufficiency.

Chronic renal failure steps

Chronic renal failure steps are based on GFR (glomerular filtration rate), which means how the kidneys are able to purify the blood. If your kidneys are healthy and work normally, GFR levels will be 90 ml / min or higher. Normal = Healthy kidney, GFR level 90 ml / min or higher

1. step = kidney damage, but normal or high GFR of 90 ml / min or greater

2. step = slightly reduced GFR 60-89 ml / min

3. step = moderately reduced GFR 30-59 ml / min

4. = Severely reduced GFR 15-29 ml / min

5. = Renal insufficiency or dialysis. GFR less than 15 ml / min

There are no apparent symptoms in Sections 1 and 2. In these chronic renal failure patients, the disease is usually diagnosed with laboratory tests that detect associated conditions such as high blood pressure, normal blood creatinine or urea levels, kidney damage in blood, blood or protein (eg, MRI, CT, ultrasound, contrast X-ray)

Stage 3 may have anemia and / or early skeletal symptoms

In stage 4, kidneys lose the ability to remove waste products and excess water from the body , and be prepared for dialysis or kidney transplantation

. Stage 5 is also referred to as end-stage kidney disease or end stage kidney disease (ESRD). At this stage there is total or nearly complete loss of renal function. The body accumulates waste, water and toxic substances because the kidneys can not clean them out of the body. At this stage, it is likely that dialysis or kidney transplantation is needed to survive. Chronic renal failure is progressive and there is no known healing for the disease. Most cases go to later stages and require dialysis or transplantation.

If you suffer from dialysis, your five-year survival rate is 32 percent. If you are receiving kidney transplantation, depending on the donor, 90% survival rate of two years




Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *